top of page

About HQ Holden Racing

FOS_2137 (2).JPG

HQ Holden Racing is the definitive entry level category for car racing in Australia, providing the opportunity to enjoy close racing and develop racecraft at an affordable price. The success of HQ Racing Australia also lies in the overall management by the National Category Manager, National Eligibility Officer and the State Delegates.


These people, who are passionate about HQ Racing, meet annually to discuss proposed rule changes and make decisions affecting the future direction of the class. A significant clause in the HQRA Constitution states that the class will “never allow any freedom within the regulations of the HQ Holden class that will allow the class to deviate from its roots of providing low cost circuit motor racing".


While the National body oversees the category, each state has a separate club that supports its local members and works with their state race promoters to facilitate the involvement in the local competition HQ Holdens, while being primarily club level racers, compete on all tracks in Australia, along with competing in 2020 with Supercars at Tailem Bend at one the highest profile events in the national calendar. From the exciting high speed tracks like Bathurst, Phillip Island and Eastern Creek to the tighter challenging circuits, Wakefield Park, Barbagallo Raceway, Mallala, Morgan Park, Symmons Plains and Winton holding HQ events in every state of Australia throughout the year.


Each year an event to determine the National Champion is held in a different state by rotation, while the individual states run an annual point score series to determine the Driver of the Year for that state. From short sprint races of five lap distance, to a four hour Endurance race held in November at Winton Raceway Victoria in supported by competitors from various states that provide plenty of variety and the opportunity to test drivers and crew.

bottom of page